Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology


The  (SSB) is a science award in India given once a year through the Council of Clinical and Commercial Analysis (CSIR) for notable and remarkable analysis, implemented or elementary, in biology, chemistry,environmental science, engineering, arithmetic, drugs and Physics. The aim of the prize is to acknowledge remarkable Indianwork (consistent with the view of CSIR awarding committee) in science and generation. It’s the maximum coveted award in multidisciplinary science in India.The award is known as after the founder Director of the Council of Clinical & Commercial Analysis, Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar. It used to be first awarded in 1958.

Any citizen of India engaged in analysis in any box of science and generation as much as the age of 45 years is eligible for the prize. The prize is awarded at the foundation of contributions made thru paintings executed in India most effective all through the 5 years previous the yr of the prize. The prize incorporates a quotation, a plaque, and a money award of ₹five lakh (US$7,400). As well as, recipients additionally get Rs. 15,000 per thirty days as much as the age of 65 years.

Nomination and choice

Names of applicants are proposed through a member of the governing frame of

CSIR, Vice-Chancellors of universities or institutes of nationwide significance, deans of various schools of science and previous awardees. Variety is made by way of the Advisory Committee constituted each and every yr and essentially is composed of no less than six mavens together with no less than one former Bhatnagar Awardee within the respective self-discipline. No less than 2/three settlement of the individuals is needed for variety. If two nominees are unanimously advisable in the similar box as a result of equivalent benefit, each are awarded.


The prize is split into seven disciplines, specifically:

  • Organic Sciences
  • Chemical Sciences
  • Earth, Environment, Ocean and Planetary Sciences
  • Engineering Sciences
  • Mathematical Sciences
  • Clinical Sciences
  • Bodily Sciences.

Additional, each and every self-discipline may have more than one winners (most 2 people) As much as 2008 the prize cash used to be ₹2 lakh (US$three,000) and used to be raised to ₹five lakh (US$7,400) in 2009.


The names of the recipients are historically declared via the Director Common on each and every 26 September, which is the CSIR Basis Day. The prize is sent by way of the Top Minister of India. The awardee is sure to provide a lecture within the space of the award, normally out of doors his/her town of labor


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here